Hair brushes

Ok, so we've got shaving all taken care of but what about that hair and the rest of your face? Get the low down on shampoo's, conditioners, finishers, cleansers, toners and moisturizers right here!
rsp1202

Hair brushes

Post by rsp1202 »

I've never used one before, but it caught my interest that Acca Kappa (among others) makes a black boar bristle military brush as well as a white boar version. What's the difference between these two, and what type of hair benefits from this kind of brush? I'm more of a cheap soft-tipped nylon bristle styling brush kinda guy, but maybe thinking it's time to explore some up-market options.
Ron
bernards66
Duke of Silvertip!

Re: Hair brushes

Post by bernards66 »

Ron, Some of our members who were the most into traditional hair brushes don't seem to post much anymore, unfortunately. I have one boar bristle Kent with a handle. Mine is in their softest bristle as my hair is fairly fine and my scalp a bit sensitive. Brushing ones hair daily with such a brush is said to be good for the hair and scalp as it massages the scalp, increasing blood flow there, and removes loose material from the hair. Also, supposedly, it spreads the natural oils more evenly from scalp to hair tips. I don't know if any of this is medically valid but these are the things I've heard about using such brushes. The best hand made ones traditionally were mostly English; Kent, RA Rooney, and Coate's particularly. As you know, only Kent is still in business and still making hair brushes. I suppose it varies with the maker but usually the white bristled ones are softer and the black bristled ones firmer. They are ALL pretty firm IMO ( chuckle ).
Regards,
Gordon
Squire
Squadron Leader

Post by Squire »

Ron I've owned and used a few brushes and understand the appeal. Trumpers is made by Kent by the way, a fact I discovered after buying one so shop carefully.
Regards,
Squire
rsp1202

Post by rsp1202 »