How'd you learn to drive, and on what?

Feel free to post anything unrelated to wet shaving or men's grooming (I.e. cars, watches, pens, leather goods. You know, the finer things of life).
razorburned

How'd you learn to drive, and on what?

Post by razorburned »

After recently, completely by accident mind you, hijacking the 'Debating DE vs. Cartridge' thread (sorry again BeatlesFan), I started thinking about how I learned to drive. This lead me to wonder what stories some of you gents must have on the subject. To start it off, here is mine, which I must say is a winner strategy if anyone has teens that need teaching.

When I was a freshman in high school I found a help wanted posting on a bulletin board in one of the halls for an after school job at a roofing company. I went and applied, not expecting to get the job as I was only 13 at the time. To my delight (short lived) I got it. The job consisted of me showing up after school and cleaning 'the yard' till the roofers came back to the shop around 5:30. Once all the trucks were in, I had to remove any garbage, sweep the beds, and reload them for the next day's jobs. As this job was done mostly 'after hours' I was given keys to the building and gate, along with alarm codes...I had to lock up before going home.

I show up for my first day at work and the owner asks if I know how to drive. As I have to unload and reload the trucks, I will need to move them around the yard as well as operate the forklift. Umm no. I figure I have just lost my first job, on the first day. He goes to the office, comes back and tosses me the key for one of the trucks and tells me to get in...no, the driver's seat. It was a 90's Toyota 4x4 stick shift. He walked around to the driver's door, pointed to the peddles and said 'clutch, break, gas. hold in the clutch to change gears and when you stop, press the gas as you lift off the clutch to go, now figure it out' then walked away.