How would you respond to thia student?

Feel free to post anything unrelated to wet shaving or men's grooming (I.e. cars, watches, pens, leather goods. You know, the finer things of life).
jthomas60506

How would you respond to thia student?

Post by jthomas60506 »

I have been a college professor for 13 years, and I thought I had heard everything. . . until today. I received an email from a student (a graduate student, no less!) who asked the following: "How important is it that I acquire the books required for your course?"

I am still puzzled about a graduate student's inability to understand the term "required text."

I'll buy a virtual beer for the best response. . .

jt
kronos9

Post by kronos9 »

"The aggregate of concepts required to attain a passing grade for this course may be acquired through Twitter, Facebook, or Google. However, this being a graduate level course, you may find that tweeting, facing, or googling will prove insufficent in that respect. Therefore, yes, opening a book and actually reading it may prove to be conducive to a better understanding of the subject matter."
Ed
jthomas60506

Post by jthomas60506 »

kronos9 wrote:"The aggregate of concepts required to attain a passing grade for this course may be acquired through Twitter, Facebook, or Google. However, this being a graduate level course, you may find that tweeting, facing, or googling will prove insufficent in that respect. Therefore, yes, opening a book and actually reading it may prove to be conducive to a better understanding of the subject matter."
Ed,

I may just put that in my syllabus!

jt
SteveK

Post by SteveK »