Coffee

Feel free to post anything unrelated to wet shaving or men's grooming (I.e. cars, watches, pens, leather goods. You know, the finer things of life).
drmoss_ca
Admin

Coffee

Post by drmoss_ca »

I've been learning about coffee roasting for six months or so, starting with a hot air popcorn machine, and now using a modified device that offers more control (a FreshRoast SR500). I have always loved the machines and mechanisms involved in making coffee, especially those with art deco styling. Sadly, they don't always work as well as they look! I'm on my third Saeco Vienna machine, and I keep resuscitating this one with spare parts from Amazon and eBay, as Saeco has been bought by Philips and they no longer make them. It simply makes the best coffee I have tasted. I have experimented with semi-automatic machines like those from Breville, but no matter how I roast, how I grind, how I dose and how I tamp, the Vienna outperforms me. The only complaint I have is probably not the machine's fault - I don't get massive amounts of crema, and I suspect the green beans I buy online are not as fresh as they might be, but for $9CAN/lb, I shouldn't complain.

Columbian Supremo beans seem to be the most versatile, although I can't use oily dark roasted beans in a superautomatic machine without gumming up the works. Consequently I listen for the second crack and stop there at a full city roast. Beans from Guatemala, Panama, Kenya, Bali and Ethiopia have also passed through my hands, but I still find the Columbians best.

BTW, at this time of year, there is a special treat to be had: egg nog lattes. Try one and enjoy!
"Je n'ai pas besoin de cette hypothèse."
Pierre-Simon de Laplace
EL Alamein

Re: Coffee

Post by EL Alamein »

Ah, coffee, I love it. I wish I had the time to pursue what you have done.

Sounds wonderful and I hope to get there one day.

Chris
CMur12

Post by CMur12 »