Sudoku anyone?

Feel free to post anything unrelated to wet shaving or men's grooming (I.e. cars, watches, pens, leather goods. You know, the finer things of life).
brothers

Sudoku anyone?

Post by brothers » Sun May 31, 2020 8:14 pm

I'm just a beginner but I've begun to enjoy it. Does anyone have some tips that might make it somewhat easier for a rookie to understand? I do understand the objective of the game, but it seems to be much more challenging than it was at first glance.
Gary

SOTD 99%: soaps & creams, synthetic & badger brushes, General V2 by Colonial, Kai & Schick blades, Superior 70 aftershave splash + menthol + 444

rustyblade
Shaving Paparazzo

Re: Sudoku anyone?

Post by rustyblade » Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:23 pm

This is a game I really want to understand the advanced concepts to learn how to solve difficult puzzles, but it sadly makes me realize that I don’t math well. :(
Richard

Gene

Post by Gene » Tue Jun 02, 2020 7:44 am

I like working the puzzles a lot. I found a couple of apps - and I do the easy ones when I want to let my mind wander. The medium's and hard's require me to put little number in the boxes too much (if you do these you understand that).

I find that often times what does NOT go in the box is as important to know as what does go in the box.
Gene

"It could probably be shown by facts and figures that there is no distinctly American criminal class except Congress."
Mark Twain

"People shouldn't be afraid of their government. Governments should be afraid of their people."
Alan Moore

John Rose

Post by John Rose » Tue Jun 02, 2020 7:24 pm

Sudoku is my 3rd favourite time-killer, after Klondike Solitaire (on my iPod) and Cryptic Crosswords (in paperback book compilations).
I think I'd rather not learn tricks to speed up the solution.
"If this isn't nice, then what is?" - Kurt Vonnegut's Uncle Alex

brothers

Post by brothers » Sun Jun 21, 2020 7:42 pm