Musings

Need help with a process of wetshaving? Wanna see pics or videos? Here is your Mecca!
drmoss_ca
Admin

Musings

Post by drmoss_ca »

I have been playing more with film lately, and discovered some shots on the roll I developed a couple of weeks ago that I didn't expect:

This was my mother playing with her chemo wig. She died in March.

And the new deck being built:

and greeting my better half after a visit to her parents in the UK and Spain:

I'm getting into medium format film in a bigger way. Old cameras using 120 roll film are now cheap, and they offer far better quality than the most extreme and expensive digital can. The Fuji MF cameras with fixed lenses for 6x4.5, 6x7, 6x8, and 6x9 (I have no experience of the 6x12 or 6x17 formats) are stunningly good buys at present. Sadly, Kodak is about to die, and Efke in Slovakia is going the same way. A freezer and Ilford film will provide me with supplies for the remainder of my life.

Chris
"Je n'ai pas besoin de cette hypothèse."
Pierre-Simon de Laplace
CMur12

Post by CMur12 »

Those pictures of your mother would be an especially bitter-sweet find, Chris. My condolences to you on your loss.

I'm fascinated by your statement about the image quality of medium format film vs digital. I haven't done much photography in recent years, and I still don't own a digital camera, but my favorites are my old twin lens reflexes: A Rolleiflex T and the even better Minolta Autocords, along with a host of Rollei and Minolta filters and accessories for these lovely devices. These older cameras don't have the optics of the modern Fujis you cited (Boy, would I love one of those!), but they have produced some stellar images nonetheless.

Thanks, once again, for sharing your thoughts and images.

- Murray
fallingwickets
Clive the Thumb

Post by fallingwickets »

Sorry about your mom

The glass deck looks incredible....is it difficult to keep clean?

clive
de gustibus non est disputandum
drmoss_ca
Admin

Post by drmoss_ca »