What shave set do you recommend?

New to the world of wet-shaving? Grab a desk and be seated! Welcome to SMFU: A place to learn and compare notes about the ABC's of wet shaving. From brushes to creams, razors and more...We've got it all!
kellman

What shave set do you recommend?

Post by kellman »

Hi: I'm trying to figure out what set to buy out there? There are too many available and I can't decide what I need. I have never done wet shaving before. Can you help?
yoyology
Captain Yo

Post by yoyology »

I highly recommend reading leisureguy's blog poston this topic.
Karl G. Siewert
Librarian and yo-yo enthusiast
Tulsa, OK

"Someday I'll find it, the BBS Connection, the razor, the stubble, and me."
Blue As A Jewel

Post by Blue As A Jewel »

Hey kellman - Welcome to SMF!

Shave sets are nice to look at but very expensive - you can put both a nice looking set for a much more reasonable price with better performance. Check out Karl's link to get started.
- Ravi -

You can mistrust me less than you can mistrust him. Trust me.
Tye
Watch this space!

Post by Tye »

When I first started last year, I used a piece of hardwood for the handle and a trimmed section of tin can (a catfood can lid works best, but you can use whatever you can find). I didn't have a brush, but I could make a super slick 'lather' from congealed grease from various fast food places (McDucks was the best for this). For a mirror I'd just use a puddle of water I found because it could do triple duty; wet my face and keep it wet, rinse my blade and then bathe in. It sucked in the winter, but the late spring/summer was okay. As an ASB I'd once again use the fast food grease. This worked pretty well. I'd get rousted by the police from time to time because I'd be sharpening my 'blade' on the sidewalk, but my shaves were superb. There's nothing like the feeling of putting together your own shave kit from scratch.

-Tye
Contributing Member to the Cause
Leisureguy

Post by Leisureguy »