New guy in need of some advice

New to the world of wet-shaving? Grab a desk and be seated! Welcome to SMFU: A place to learn and compare notes about the ABC's of wet shaving. From brushes to creams, razors and more...We've got it all!
DoughDave

New guy in need of some advice

Post by DoughDave »

Just joined today, found the site by searching for shaving tips and it looks like the type of site I'm looking for.

Just a little background...
I'm Dave, 20 years old, from MI, I also have curly hair (important thing to know about me when giving advice) and sensitive skin. I've been shaving for a few years now, have not used any special shaving gear, like great creams, nice brushes or razor, no special moisturizer. I have basically been using Gillette razors (2,3,4 blade) and Gillette shaving cream. Guess it helps that they send me new razors on my birthday and coupons for cream. I'd like to get a nice razor and other gear but I can't afford it now.

Ok, I have curly hair, which means the hair on my face is kind of crazy too. It grows in all kinds of different directions. (Will post a couple pics in a moment) It seems no matter what direction I shave in I get razor bumps that itch and basically hurt like crazy. Also, I have acne which makes shaving even more of a chore and also makes irritation worse.

Is there any advice for me on how to shave correctly ? I've heard so many people say shave with the grain and many say against. It seems neither works for me. Is it really about the direction? Would it be easier and better for me to have better shaving gear? Any good products to protect against razor bumps? It sucks cause my beard grows in so many directions it looks uneven when grown which I dont like, and its bumpy and irritated when shaved even though I like the look. Seems like Im screwed either way.

Thanks in advance for any replies and Im going to post a picture in a few.
DoughDave

Post by DoughDave »

Pictures are kinda big so I'm posting links instead.