A few beginner questions (UK member)

New to the world of wet-shaving? Grab a desk and be seated! Welcome to SMFU: A place to learn and compare notes about the ABC's of wet shaving. From brushes to creams, razors and more...We've got it all!
The_Judge

A few beginner questions (UK member)

Post by The_Judge »

First off, hi guys. New to the forum but not new to wet shaving. I am new to DE shaving though. I've been a dual-blade (FX Diamond) guy my whole shaving life pretty much but now stores have stopped stocking blades for it it seems so I'm having to move on.

I've ventured into the whole brush and soap scene before but I purchased cheap Wilkinson Sword stuff and was turned off quickly. I've since learned the error of my ways and am going to put some money into it this time.

I am pretty set on getting the Merkur Futur to be honest. I know some don't recommend it for a beginner but I have a very light and steady hand and I'd rather just buy one good razor now than to 'upgrade' again in a while. Also the price of the Futur is essentially the same as the Barberpole over here so I figure I might as well.

Anyway, my questions are with regards to storage and what brush you guys recommend.

Can I just shake the water from the razor and leave it lying down or should I grab a stand?

What stand can I get? Apart from the Merkur Futur and Brush set I'm not sure what stand will fit it.

Lastly, what do people think of Men-U brushes? They are a decent price and seem to be mentioned here and there. Alternatively I'd be willing to spend around £20-£30 for one.

Cheers in advance.

PS - I'm from the UK so if you guys know of any decent UK men's/shaving store sites, I'd love to hear about them.
Squire
Squadron Leader

Post by Squire »

Hey Judge, welcome aboard. I like the Futur very much and will go so far as to say I believe it's the best designed shaving tool of all my razors. It is a bit heavy for my taste though.
Regards,
Squire
notthesharpest
Assistant Dean SMFU