Irritation - Need Help!!!

New to the world of wet-shaving? Grab a desk and be seated! Welcome to SMFU: A place to learn and compare notes about the ABC's of wet shaving. From brushes to creams, razors and more...We've got it all!
Midnttokr1

Irritation - Need Help!!!

Post by Midnttokr1 »

I am relatively new to the world of wet shaving. My first DE razor was one of the brand new inexpensive Parker DE's...I believe it was the 96R (I'm not 100% sure). I was experiencing a lot of razor bumps and irritation on my neck after a shave. After lots of research and stalking many many shaving forms (like this one) i decided to purchase an adjustable Gillette. I managed to snag a 66 Fatboy and had my first shave with it this morning, however I am still experiencing lots of razor bumps and ittiration. My usual routine for shaving is 1-wash face with Neutrogena for men pre shave face wash 2-Art of Shaving Lavender pre shave oil 3-AOS Lavender shave cream applied with cheap Tweezerman pure badger brush 4-shave with 66 Fatboy & Merkur blades (3 passes) 5-AOS aftershave mousturizer. Am I doing something wrong? I don't apply much pressure (if any other than the weight of the razor) and I go with the grain unitl my final pass which I go opposite in very few areas. I have read through the threads here and I noticed several people saying that the Gillette Superspeed's are the way to go in regards to a razor. I know that the "Blue Tip" SS or TTO's (i don't know which it is) are made for sensitive skin. Is this something that I should consider? Any help and or suggestions are welcome.

On a side note, I think I have caught the bug of wetshaving....I even taught my father how to wetshave as he had never done it before (and I'm 27 years old!)

Joe :D
notthesharpest
Assistant Dean SMFU

Post by notthesharpest »

Welcome to SMF!

Your razor is great, don't change it. (What setting is it at?)