Shaving direction for minimal cuts?

New to the world of wet-shaving? Grab a desk and be seated! Welcome to SMFU: A place to learn and compare notes about the ABC's of wet shaving. From brushes to creams, razors and more...We've got it all!
Dizzyfun

Shaving direction for minimal cuts?

Post by Dizzyfun »

Hello all. I am relatively new to wet shaving. I have been using a Merkur/Adams open comb DE for about 6 months. Last week I bought a Gillette SuperSPeed Red and tried it tonight with a Crystal Blade. Good shave, smooth with no pulling.
The problem I'm having is with shaving my neck. It's rare that I don't end up with cuts. My neck hair grows outward from the trachea upward toward each ear. I shave with the grain but it never cuts close enough. When I try to shave across or against the grain is when I get into trouble.
What can help remedy this problem?
brothers

Post by brothers »

Maybe when you're shaving your neck, you should concentrate on two things, the angle of the blade, and the amount of pressure you might be applying. The head of the razor should be almost flat against the skin, making the angle very small. Also, try to avoid applying any pressure as you draw the razor along. Try to avoid making long sweeping passes. A series of very small strokes, overlapping the last stroke, might help also. And don't rush. Try to go slowly. Hope some of this might help. And welcome to SMF!
Gary

SOTD 99%: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, soaps & creams, synthetic / badger brushes, Colonial General razor, Kai & Schick blades, straight razors any time, Superior 70 aftershave splash + menthol + 444
notthesharpest
Assistant Dean SMFU

Post by notthesharpest »

Maybe you have to live with the non-close cut.

Maybe if you improve your lather or your other preparation, the other pass will work better.

Try using your wrong hand to shave difficult areas. The change of angle that comes with that switch can make a useful difference.
bernards66
Duke of Silvertip!