Shaving Over Razor Bumps - turned in to a viscous cycle

New to the world of wet-shaving? Grab a desk and be seated! Welcome to SMFU: A place to learn and compare notes about the ABC's of wet shaving. From brushes to creams, razors and more...We've got it all!
bennay

Shaving Over Razor Bumps - turned in to a viscous cycle

Post by bennay »

So I'll admit I'm very new to wet shaving. My technique has come a long way however, it can still go further.

My current dilemma is on my neck... Now don't go crucify me yet, I have done some work. I have watched the manic youtube videos, analysed my grain... so it's getting better but there are still a few spots (really two main ones) where I get irritation. Basically they don't go away until my next shave, and then I re-aggravate (or cut/nick) them and it's turned into a viscous cycle.

It's mainly because when I shave over these areas, it's hard to not get irritation (this goes back to even my cartridge days). What happens when I shave over these areas is I often cut/nick these bumps or irritate them. Basically the only way not to, is to not shave - which I do. BUT eventually it gets to a point I have to for work/life... So I go with the grain in these areas, with minimal pressure and a careful blade angle. The rest of my face/neck has a much smoother (closer) shave with little to no irritation but it stills occurs there and these bumps remain until my next shave.

Any suggestions how to break this cycle other than not shaving completely?

I currently use pre/post Proraso, TOBS shaving cream, GFT skin food and/or Nivea balm.

I have this on order: alum block, styptic pencil, witch hazel, and gentlemen's refinery (hoping this would help).
Persius

Post by Persius »