(Yet another) new shaver

New to the world of wet-shaving? Grab a desk and be seated! Welcome to SMFU: A place to learn and compare notes about the ABC's of wet shaving. From brushes to creams, razors and more...We've got it all!
Icarus1

(Yet another) new shaver

Post by Icarus1 »

Hello all!

New to the site. I am a sixteen year old living in the US who has lately become interested in shaving the old fashioned way. I got a (cheap) beautiful razor through knife-depot, but I get the feeling that it may be more decorative than shave quality. We will see.

The real issue is that I don't have any of the other necessary materials (strop, whetstone, bowl, brush, or soap), and as a high school student, I am on a fairly limited budget. You guys have been doing this for years, so I imagine that you have a lot of advice to give. That, and any other tips for first timers would be appreciated. I don't have much to shave yet, but I'm looking forward to learning to shave myself and others.

Thanks, guys!
ShadowsDad

Post by ShadowsDad »

Welcome to the forum!

Good for you that you aren't even thinking about cartridges or an electric. Of course most of us are prejudiced to DE (double edge), SE (single edge), and straight razors. Some here do use carts though. Good for you for blade shaving because you'll have nothing to unlearn.

Where you should begin is by just reading; especially in this section.

You don't need expensive gear to get a great shave and the expense can be less than by other means if you don't get the dreaded Acquisition Disorder (AD).

Check out beginner sets from Italian Barber and Bullgoose.

Be sure to ask us before buying more stuff.

OK, there's an elephant in the room... what razor did you buy? I ask because some are better for a noob to survive their first shave with and learn with and there are others that can carve you up like a roast.