Wow! HHT passed on two razors!

Use a straight. You know it makes sense.
Occam

Wow! HHT passed on two razors!

Post by Occam »

Hi gents,

Having the Friday afternoon free I came home to finally sit down and give the hones and my razors the attention they need. Yesterday I had experimented a bit more and got my NOS razors up to back of the hand shaving sharp but they failed the HHT with thick or thin hair.

I got the eBay razor again and taped up its spine.

On the DMT 325 I gave it a really good going over till I could see the entire bevel with a new scratch pattern. A slight smile in the blade required an imperceptible rocking to get the whole blade. I hit it with about 30-50 passes. I'm not good at counting when concentrating on the task at hand.

I left the tape as it was wearing a bit and I'd been cleaning the hone every 5 strokes or so to keep it flat and debris free.

Then on to the DMT 1200 I honed for 5-10 strokes and removed the tape. Then it got another 20-30 strokes till the entire bevel looked even.

Then onto the Spyderco UF unlapped side for about 20 strokes progressively lightening. Then the lapped side for about 20 very light strokes.

Result: HHT PASSED!!! I basically sliced to pieces over and over one of my wife's hairs on different parts of the blade. I was beyond excitement.

I was so excited I immediately stropped on the Illinois 827 and did a test shave... wow... my right cheek despite having a great shave in the AM was BBS with only two with the grain passes from the straight razor!! To say I was dumbfounded was an understatement. I was hooked and did my neck too... no irritation and a very nice shave!