Thinking about making the switch from DE

Use a straight. You know it makes sense.
rockdude14

Thinking about making the switch from DE

Post by rockdude14 »

I've been shaving with a DE for about two years now and enjoyed. I've always been intrigued by straight razors. I like the process of shaving and like something that takes a little bit of skill to do well.

Anyway I'd like to start but I just don't know where. I'm a college student so cash is a bit tight. I know its important to get one thats been honed correctly. Don'y really care about looks. Any advice on what to get for my first razor?

Thanks
a-cut-above

Post by a-cut-above »

The classifieds at Straight Razor Place. The won't be as cheap as eBay but they will be in good shape and if the seller says "Shave ready" you will get a shave ready razor.
Dave

"Sanity is a madness put to good use." - George Santayana (…like a wet shaver with an acquisition disorder.)
rockdude14

Post by rockdude14 »

I was actually looking through there (and the classifieds here)
but I just dont know what I'm looking at

as long as its shave ready
is it pretty much going to be good
or is there other things i should be looking for in a first razor
a-cut-above

Post by a-cut-above »

Chris Moss, are you there?
Dave

"Sanity is a madness put to good use." - George Santayana (…like a wet shaver with an acquisition disorder.)
drmoss_ca
Admin

Post by drmoss_ca »

I am, and the advice is good. An older razor honed by a respected name at SRP will be capable of shaving you. Whether you will turn out to be capable of - well, that part's easy!

Chris
"Je n'ai pas besoin de cette hypothèse."
Pierre-Simon de Laplace
a-cut-above

Post by a-cut-above »

rockdude14 wrote:I was actually looking through there (and the classifieds here)
but I just dont know what I'm looking at

as long as its shave ready
is it pretty much going to be good
or is there other things i should be looking for in a first razor