Newbie with a few questions

Use a straight. You know it makes sense.
SharpClaw

Newbie with a few questions

Post by SharpClaw »

Hi

I have been wetshaving for close to 5 years , and i have owned straight razors for almost as long. I gave up on the straights but since Dec i have come back and i have gotten several new hones.

I am liking straight razors so much that i have sadly abandoned my de razors. now they sit collecting dust.

I have a few questions.

I have a Blue Wonder 132 with Sheffield steel that was hollow ground in Germany. I am not sure how to put it, i have other razors that shave i think are better shavers. I am not sure if its because this razor needs a different angle when i shave with it or because it is not sharp enough.

my progression is 1k/6k combination stone , Apart barber hone and a lapped spyderco uf, I have gotten good results when honing my other razors.

Should i drop back down to 6K and work my way back up, or put in more practice with this razor ?

The razor is also lighter and more hollow ground than my other razors.
Could it be that this difference in combination with my somewhat course beard be why i feel that it should be shaving better?

The last question what is this that i just won on the bay?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 500wt_1156 i suspect its a Thuringian but i am not sure.

Will I ever find true love?
Sorry wrong forum please point me to the fortune telling forum
:P
Sol

Maher & Grosh Str8
Kingsley Tortoise Silver
Tabac Shave Soap
Nivea Soft
matt321

Re: Newbie with a few questions

Post by matt321 »

SharpClaw wrote: Should i drop back down to 6K and work my way back up, or put in more practice with this razor ?

The razor is also lighter and more hollow ground than my other razors.
Could it be that this difference in combination with my somewhat course beard be why i feel that it should be shaving better?