Looking for a "Starter Kit"

Use a straight. You know it makes sense.
mattyb240

Looking for a "Starter Kit"

Post by mattyb240 »

Hi all, I have been shaving with a de for several months now and am very pleased with the results. I am considering the move up to straight razors.

I have found this kit: http://www.shaving-shack.com/cuthroat-o ... r-kit.html

Although I don't need the brush the price seems reasonable? Does anybody no much about the razor in the link? Initial reviews I have found seem positive.

Also what is the price of a beginner hone? Is there certain qualities I should be looking for? Ideally I would like to buy the razor, strop, paste, and hone for under £100. Is this unrealistic?

Kind regards,

Matt
ScottB

Post by ScottB »

You're learning two things, how to shave with a straight and how to prepare a straight. I found it necessary to separate those two learning processes.

I recommend getting a starter straight and having it professionally honed and then just buying a leather strop. Then you can concentrate on learning to shave with a properly prepared straight.

Then once you can use the thing effectively you can start fiddling with hones and pasted strops etc.

For me this was two distinct skills that I had to separate to be able to learn properly.

Scott
whitebar

Post by whitebar »

Scott is spot on with his advise about keeping these two learning processes separate. Otherwise you are apt to get frustrated if an improperly honed razor won't shave for you.

I would also suggest getting a used razor that has been freshly honed by someone experienced with hones as your first straight. There are lots of places to pick these sorts of razors up at very reasonable costs and IMO many of the vintage razors shave better than entry level new straights. They also have a lot more character.
-Stephen
mattyb240

Post by mattyb240 »