Stropping

Use a straight. You know it makes sense.
Marsom

Stropping

Post by Marsom »

Hello,

I'm new to straight razor shaving and have been practicing my stropping technique a lot. First off, is there any trouble in fully stropping the blade after a shave? I've read that it shouldn't be done until the next day before the next shave. My thinking on this is that when barbers used to shave people regularly with straights, they didn't tell the customer that they just finished a shave and they would have to wait until tomorrow. So, they would have had to have been stropping several times a day correct?

Also, is it okay to practice stropping even if the razor has been fully stropped? In other words, can you overstrop the blade by practicing too much?

Thanks,
Marion
EL Alamein

Re: Stropping

Post by EL Alamein »

Marion,

Welcome to the club! I hope you find straight razor shaving as delightful as most of us that practice it.

To your questions:

No trouble in stropping a blade after a shave. Have at it.

Dovo put out some information over a decade ago that warned against stropping until something like 24 hours had passed and the blade's micro-serrations had time to "right" themselves through the memory of the steel. Supposedly if stropping was done too soon after a shave it would contribute to degradation of the edge by pulling micro-pieces of steel off which had bent over during the shave. I'm pretty sure this has been shown to be poppycock.

In fact, it goes directly against the Barber's Textbooks of old that instruct the barber to strop the blade during the shave. There seems to be plenty of anecdotal evidence reported on the forums over the years that stropping during or even after a shave does not degrade the edge and only serves the function to improve the edge. I cannot recall a single report that says stropping during or directly after a shave had a negative effect.