FIRST WET SHAVE!!!

Thoughts and input on anything related to wet shaving or men's grooming.
Teuton

FIRST WET SHAVE!!!

Post by Teuton »

Hey folks, my kit arrived today (Merkur HD, Rooney Super Silver) and I just had my first shave. I used Florena shaving cream (tube) because my Proraso has not yet arrived.

Ok, first I want to thank Mantic for his videos, they helped me a lot.

I would say my first shave was pretty good, I only did two passes because I am worried about irritation. Overall I got just as close as I would with my electric that I have been using for 6 years. however, the shave was much more fun and comfortable in comparision (no red blotches) In fact I got a closer shave in the neck area than I did with my electric. I only nicked myself once (actually I cut over an above skin black head and that's why) otherwise I am nick free. BTW, those styptic pens are amazing!!!

Overall if I am getting this comfortable and close a shave on my first go I cannot wait until I perfect the art form.

Some mistakes that I made but will correct in the future...

1) My beard was too long, I've been waiting all week for my supplies and wanted to so badly shave I left it grow. It was tugging a bit around my chin and I had to focus more on that area.

2) I probably should have softened the beard up more, maybe shower first than shave.

3) I don't think I am holding the shaver at the proper angle, any advice on this???

4) I don't think I made my lather thick enough (not enough water)

Also, how should I clean my brush?

All in all a wonderful experience, very please :)

Thanks all.
divotmax

Post by divotmax »

Teuton;