Pre-shave oil: yay or nay? Also, some newbie questions.

Thoughts and input on anything related to wet shaving or men's grooming.
absenteemessiah

Pre-shave oil: yay or nay? Also, some newbie questions.

Post by absenteemessiah »

I have recently gotten more into shaving, and I'm interested in the opinion of pre-shave oils on the board.

I just picked up a new brush and ordered some St. Charles Shave Soap.

Also, could you recommend a good, inexpensive pre-shave oil and double-edge razor? I am a college student with little disposible income, but enjoy the luxury of a good shave.

Thanks.
rtaylor61
Old Spice

Post by rtaylor61 »

Welcome to the boards! You'll find a lot of good information here. I would suggest taking a look at Pacific Shave Oil. It's actually designed to be used instead of shaving cream or soap, but a lot of guys use is as a pre-shave oil with great results. You can find it here:

http://www.shaveoil.com/index.php

A little bit goes a long way!

Randy
"I won't be wronged. I won't be insulted. I won't be laid a-hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them." J. B. Books
notthesharpest
Assistant Dean SMFU

Post by notthesharpest »

For the razor: do you want new, or will a used one do?
Sometimes you can find an old Gillette double edge for not too much money - but lately they've been enjoying a wave of popularity and may go for just about the price of a new razor.

If you can afford it, a Merkur classic or classic hefty model is a good deal, around the twenty-five to thirty dollar range. qedusa.com or leesrazors.com or classicshaving.com all have them. A great razor, and will last you forever (as in you could give it to your grandson when the time comes).
JackieMartling

Post by JackieMartling »

Nay.

Nathan
Gramps
Canadian Badass

Post by Gramps »

Welcome to the Board, A.M.

Generally speaking I do not use shave oil, or pre-shave oil.

BUT.....