Complete Newbie to Elegant Shaving: Recommendations Needed

Thoughts and input on anything related to wet shaving or men's grooming.
NJRonbo

Complete Newbie to Elegant Shaving: Recommendations Needed

Post by NJRonbo »

You'll have to excuse my ignorance on the refined techniques of shaving.

For most of my man years, I have been using a Mach 3 Razor.

I switched to all electric razors a few years ago, because frankly, I was tired of paying the exorbitant prices for the blade refills.

Yet, I have always been attracted to the razor that sits on a stand, alongside a shaving brush and a tub of shaving soap.

To me, that looks like the most elegant way to shave.

Yet, I know nothing about using straight razors or the right kind of shaving soap to get, or even how to apply it to the face.

I would be willing to return to blade shaving in exchange for something really nice.

Been reading this forum and kind of picked up on a couple things...

First, it seems this razor is highly recommended:

http://www.amazon.com/Edwin-Jagger-Kelv ... gger+razor

I don't know how to even insert a blade into it -- but with your help I will get there.

I am looking at either of these brand of razors:

http://www.amazon.com/Rapira-Double-Edg ... ira+blades

http://www.amazon.com/Astra-Superior-Pl ... tra+blades

I suppose this stand will do, but I am all up for buying something nicer and more expensive...

http://www.amazon.com/Perfecto-Deluxe-C ... 4KF7JSRC7N

A brush is probably the easiest thing to pick out. Would appreciate someone recommending shaving soap.

Really, I am not against spending upwards of $80 for a really nice shaving set, though I don't think the need will be there.
ShadowsDad

Re: Complete Newbie to Elegant Shaving: Recommendations Need

Post by ShadowsDad »