New guy from Jakarta, Indonesia

Thoughts and input on anything related to wet shaving or men's grooming.
beshaved

New guy from Jakarta, Indonesia

Post by beshaved »

Hello people.

I just found this forum last week and decided to join the frenzy.

I am a bit new to DE wet shaving. Just turned myself in last month.

Please give me advice. Any advice.

My technique is still raw. I just cut my self pretty deep in my last shave.

Arief from Jakarta
mrjediconsular

Re: New guy from Jakarta, Indonesia

Post by mrjediconsular »

beshaved welcome to SMF. =D> what de razor do have?, are you using a blade sampler pack?. take your time and us a light touch because DE shaving well cut you if you ignore those two guidelines
Jordan
CMur12

Post by CMur12 »

Hi Arief. Welcome to SMF!

Look though our SMF University. At the top of the page, it has a thread with links to instructional videos. Look also through past threads in the same and other subforums. You can also use the search function at the upper right corner of the screen. Any specific questions, just ask us.

Keep in mind that everyone has a somewhat unique experience with the traditional wetshave, so our preferences vary a lot. Some of us like one brand of blade, shaving soap, cream, or whatever, and the next guy likes something completely different. Some of us like aggressive razors for the closest shave, while others choose mild razors to go easy on sensitive skin. Some face-lather and some bowl-lather.

When it comes to choosing a razor and blade, I suggest starting by choosing the razor for your skin (mild razor for sensitive skin; aggressive razor for tough skin and the closest shave) and the blade for your beard (sharper blades for heavier, coarser beards.