New to the forum as well...

Thoughts and input on anything related to wet shaving or men's grooming.
Austinoire

New to the forum as well...

Post by Austinoire »

Hi guys,

My is Tom and I'm from Houston, Texas. I'm new to wet shaving. Like most guys we've seen our father's and grandfather's DES and said those won't work in modern times. I was also afraid of slicing my throat open only with DEs, not multiple blades. I like a lot of guys own almost ten multiblades from over the years. But, they all just seem to find their way to the back of a drawer or box-still finding handles and those oh, so expense blades. I actually have been dealing with irritation for my whole shaving life. So, I've regressed to older more established manly arts, with the use of a single BIC disposable.

I arrived here by watching videos on wet shaving. I got to wet shaving from being on a cigar forum (also a newbie there 5 mths) when one of the members was giving away a razor/toothbrush stand. He sent the stand, a few DE blades and some cigars. I realized that the offer of the blades was his mistaken impression that I was a wet shaver. The key turning point was when I mentioned I was interested in how wet shaving worked and what would I need to do to experiment with wet shaving. He gave me a fistful of good advice and I decided to move forward. The only issue was I knew as much about wet shaving as a Martian. So, I went to YouTube and watched 20+ videos on wet shaving and it demystified it by watching guys hold detailed engaging conversations into a camera while wet shaving like a banshee. I was like ok, I know they are vets, and out of all of these "just do it" videos, only one guy nicked himself twice-I was sold.