Are 6 days between shaves too long?

Thoughts and input on anything related to wet shaving or men's grooming.
PoppaLou

Are 6 days between shaves too long?

Post by PoppaLou »

Hi everyone! I'm new to this site and just started wet shaving last week with a DE Razor. I've been shaving for many years with both electrics and cartridges, please forgive me! My first wet shave was last Tuesday evening and it is now 6 days later and my question is can I just shave or should I trim my growth down first? I don't have an overly heavy beard growth but don't want to slice up my face either. Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions!
Regards,
Lou
brothers

Re: Are 6 days between shaves too long?

Post by brothers »

Hello Lou, and welcome to SMF. If it were me, I'd just shave. Because it is a 6 day beard, I'd use plenty of lather and take my time, not expecting to get it all at once.
Let us hear how it goes.
Gary

SOTD 99%: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, soaps & creams, synthetic / badger brushes, Colonial General razor, Kai & Schick blades, straight razors any time, Superior 70 aftershave splash + menthol + 444
mrjediconsular

Post by mrjediconsular »

Welcome to smf I usally shave once a week because of my migraines are bad this time of year and I just shave, plus i still don't trust electric trimmers because I had a bad experience with electric shavers
Jordan
CMur12

Post by CMur12 »

Hi Lou, welcome to SMF!

I think six days of growth could clog a cartridge razor, but I think you'll be fine with the single blade in a DE razor.

- Murray
ShadowsDad

Post by ShadowsDad »

If it clogs it'll stop cutting. Just rinse. You might also need to remove the blade to unclog it.