Kiss My Face Moisture Shave...

What is your opinion on fine shaving creams and hard soaps? Do you like Trumpers, Coates, Taylors, Truefitt & Hill? Post your reviews and opinions here!
Poetami

Kiss My Face Moisture Shave...

Post by Poetami »

How much of the cream should be used when lathering in a bowl? I've been using the fragrance-free version off and on for a few months now and still have trouble getting it to maintain its consistency on my face. Any and all recommendations will be greatly appreciated.
" Demons chant, demons roar as they burrow down to the depths of our hearts/ For it is the soul of us all where the battle truly starts..."
- ME
drmoss_ca
Admin

Post by drmoss_ca »

I use three pumps from the old square bottles, or six from the new rounded ones. Just a drizzle of water and work it up on my face, dabbing the tip of the brush in hot water as needed. It doesn't take a lot of water in my experience, to spoil the thick protective lather I prefer. KMF responds very well to priming the brush with soap too.

Chris
"Je n'ai pas besoin de cette hypothèse."
Pierre-Simon de Laplace
Poetami

Post by Poetami »

drmoss,

When you say " drizzle of water " , do you mean about a nickel sized splash in the bowl? Or is a little more necessary? The lather seems to dry up too quickly on my face and won't provide the lubrication I'm sure this product is capable of producing.
" Demons chant, demons roar as they burrow down to the depths of our hearts/ For it is the soul of us all where the battle truly starts..."
- ME
drmoss_ca
Admin

Post by drmoss_ca »

If it dries before you can finish a pass, it means either adding more water, or if that makes it too runny, shaving faster (!) or relathering the remaining parts. I find in the winter the hot air vent to my right in the bathroom will make the lather dry on my chin and right upper lip just as I get there. No shame in relathering.

Chris
Pierre-Simon de Laplace
crawlingchaos

Post by crawlingchaos »