Mike's Natural Soaps

What is your opinion on fine shaving creams and hard soaps? Do you like Trumpers, Coates, Taylors, Truefitt & Hill? Post your reviews and opinions here!
Craig_From_Cincy

Mike's Natural Soaps

Post by Craig_From_Cincy »

I haven't seen a much talk about Mike's Natural Soaps of Brooklyn, NY on SMF. I recently 'discovered' them and I'm impressed. I bought his lime soap as a replacement for Trumper lime soap, as well as a few sample of other scents (including a lovely rose & cedar). For those not familiar, Mike's shaving soaps are tallow based with the addition of lanolin.

http://www.mikesnaturalsoaps.com/Mikes_ ... Soaps.html

The soaps are somewhat semi-hard produce oodles of lather, provide excellent cusion and glide, and are wonderfully moisturizing as well. I've never used a semi-soft soap before, and I'm still perfecting my technique, but what seems to work best is to load a wet (but not dripping wet) brush on the soap for a couple of minutes, then build your lather in a bowl. This soap seems to love water, and when worked correctly whips up loads of rich lather. I'll post some pictures next time I use it.

Is anyone else on SMF using Mike's?
Last edited by Craig_From_Cincy on Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers,

Craig
TRBeck
Soapgeek

Post by TRBeck »

I believe Gary and maybe Murray (brothers and CMur12 respectively) have used it. I would love to try it but for the lanolin. It does indeed receive rave reviews almost universally.
Regards,
Tim

Why should we not meet, not always as dyspeptics, to tell our bad dreams, but sometimes as eupeptics, to congratulate each other on the ever-glorious morning? - Henry David Thoreau
CMur12

Post by CMur12 »

Craig, as Tim intimated, this is one of my favorite soaps. I'm a sucker for a natural citrus scent, so I have only sampled the Lime. I would call it a "semi-hard" soap more than "semi-soft," and it makes a very rich, creamy lather. I used up one cake and ordered 5 more.