first brush build

What kind of shaving brush do you use? Tell us all about it!
bridger

first brush build

Post by bridger »

I've been shaving with a VDH boar brush. it's the only brush I've ever had, of used. it works, but it's losing hairs. I want to make something better before it's too late. without the experience to know the ins and outs of different brushes with different soaps with the local water etc. I'm pretty much jumping in semi-blind. so I found a knot on ebay (151060990942) for pretty cheap and ordered it. it's supposed to arrive about july 1. I'm a woodworker. I'll make a handle and give it a whirl.

the knot description reads:

Grade: silver tip Badger hair
Knot diameter: 24mm
Brush Loft: 68mm

so, internet shavers, what advice have you for me.
JRTASTER

Re: first brush build

Post by JRTASTER »

no advice here, just good wishes for your project.

your imagination is admirable!

jr/John
Enjoying wet shaving, again.
jr/John
ShadowsDad

Post by ShadowsDad »

JRTASTER wrote:no advice here, just good wishes for your project.

your imagination is admirable!

jr/John
+1

I know nothing about the knot.
Brian

Maker of Kramperts Finest Bay Rum and Frostbite
Or find it here: Italian Barber, West Coast Shaving, Barclay Crocker, The Old Town Shaving Company at Stats, Maggard Razors; Leavitt & Peirce, Harvard Square
jww
Woolly Bully

Post by jww »

I admire those of our ranks who go down this path -- very impressive to take on this kind of project.
Wendell

Resident Wool Fat Evangelist & anglophile. Have you hugged a sheep today?
Squire
Squadron Leader

Post by Squire »

No advise bridger, it appears you are well on your way so please keep us informed of your progress.
Regards,
Squire
brothers

Post by brothers »

Bridger, welcome! Looking forward to seeing the new brush!
Gary