If you could have one brush....

What kind of shaving brush do you use? Tell us all about it!
paddy

If you could have one brush....

Post by paddy »

howdy all!

a newbie here chiming in for the first time, although have been reading the site for quite a while.

my question is this - i am going to buy a new brush. i am willing to spend the money for quality as i know that a good brush will last a couple of years or so, so i don't mind spending the bread. if you could choose one brush to recommend me to buy and which is to be used as my everyday shaving brush which would it be? i am a cream user only (trumpers and taylor usually). after reading nathan's (rather extensive and educational!) piece on his brushes, I am toying with the idea of going for the simpson chubby CH2 best, but before i take the plunge i was wondering whether any of you out there have your own personal favourites. thanks in advance.

yours,

paddy
Johnnie
Shave This

Post by Johnnie »

I really like Rooney's http://www.executive-shaving.co.uk/shav ... rooney.php

Also, you may want to look into the SMF II group brush. Excellent value, custom brush.
http://www.shavemyface.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5478

J
Johnnie
Keep it Wet
JackieMartling

Post by JackieMartling »

Jeez, why don't you ask me which one of my fingers I would keep! Only one brush? Are you mad? Actually, that's pretty darn sane, now that I think about it. Since you've read my other post, you might guess that if I really did have to choose just one brush, it would probably be a Plisson 16 HMW. That does a good job on both soaps and creams. What is it you mainly intend to use the brush with? If it's creams, I'd say a CH2 is an excellent choice. I wouldn't make the same recommendation if you wanted to use it for soap lathering as well. Then, I'd recommend a Plisson 16, or if that's out of your range, maybe a PL8 or CH1, or even a T3.

Nathan
DavidB

Post by DavidB »