Razor ID

Let's talk about single and double edged razors and the blades that they use.
Mr. Pinchy

Razor ID

Post by Mr. Pinchy »

I'm new to DE shaving (I've been using the razor below on and off for the last year or so with not so great results). Can someone ID it for me and tell me what kind of shave I can hope to expect, if it is crap then I wont waste my time trying to get a decent shave from it. It was my dads old razor so its at least 30 years old.

There are no markings on it.

Thanks.
jrgroucho

Post by jrgroucho »

It is a Gillette Knack, and thought I never used one, you should get a good shave from it. Some gents like it because of the longer handle, though it is not held in the same regard as a 40's SS.

--
Jeremy
><((((º>`·. .· `·. .· `·... ><((((º> .
· `·. . , . .· `·.. ><((((º>`·. .· `·. .· `·... ><((((º>
Mr. Pinchy

Post by Mr. Pinchy »

knack it is! just googled it and there it was.

Good work Jeremy.
Pauldog
Never Shave a Husky

Post by Pauldog »

Without double checking, I think it's the successor model to the Knack. It's not the first version of the Knack, at any rate. I've seen this razor in packaging labeled "Gillette Double Edge" with no other name, and marked "Made in England".
jrgroucho

Post by jrgroucho »

Mmm...good catch Paul. I believe you are right it is the latter version of the Knack. This one does not have the metal on the end and 'grooves' rather than 'ribs'. Sorry Pinchy. This is why we have people like Paul around.

--
Jeremy
><((((º>`·. .· `·. .· `·... ><((((º> .
· `·. . , . .· `·.. ><((((º>`·. .· `·. .· `·... ><((((º>
Mr. Pinchy

Post by Mr. Pinchy »

Thats ok, Ill try some new blades with it and see if my results get any better. Ill put some feathers in, and if good Ill get a bulk pack from Pauldog if any left.
Scrapyard Ape

Post by Scrapyard Ape »