What's your experience with the Derby blades?

Let's talk about single and double edged razors and the blades that they use.

What is your experience using the Derby blades?

I like 'em. Good blade for me.
63%
I found them just so-so.
23%
I don't like 'em. Not a good blade for me.
14%

Total votes: 108

Leisureguy

What's your experience with the Derby blades?

Post by Leisureguy »

Derbys are, I think, pretty popular. They don't work for me---seem dull---but quite a few (I believe) like them. Let's find out...
Coldshot

Post by Coldshot »

I'm still very new to this and only tried the Derby blade from my sampler pack. I went from the Merkur that came with my razor to a Wal-Mart Personna which I didn't like at all then the sampler. I started with a Dorco which I found "so-so" then moved to a derby which I liked. Then a Chrystal which wasn't bad and now again with the Merkur for my 5th week of DE shaving; which after trying other blades I find a bit rough...I get nics....kind of aggressive for me. I am still thinking the Derby is the best so far. Then again I'm only 4 weeks into shaving. I still have a few more blades (8 in total) that came with my sampler. I guess the best thing is after I get more experience to go back and try em' all again. So far the Derby is on my mind as a comfortable shave and fairly close. With better techniques I think it may be even better.
Tommy
Zach

Post by Zach »

I need 3+ passes with the Derby to get a so-so shave
Nocturne

Post by Nocturne »

Derby is my go to blade brand; I can pull a week of good shaves from a single blade. I just ordered 200 more. 8)
bigsid

Post by bigsid »

I just started a sampler pack from Tryphon. I started with a Wilkinson Sword Classic White label(made in Germany). I got six great shaves from it. Next up was the Derby which I am currently using. Overall I'm not that impressed with it.