The Making of a Slant fan

Let's talk about single and double edged razors and the blades that they use.
GregPQ

The Making of a Slant fan

Post by GregPQ »

I received my Merkur Slant about 3 weeks ago, from QED where Charles offered excellent pricing.

My first shave was with a Swede and I was surprised at how smooth the WTG shave went. No cuts or irritation, but I have been using a DE for several years. I began to think that the Slant/Swede combination gave such a great WTG shave that I'd never need to go ATG again.

After 7 days--all WTG--I tossed the Swede in favor of a Derby. Definitely inferior to the Swede: not as smooth, nor as close-cutting.

After 3 days--all WTG again--I swapped out the Derby for a Feather. This was my first shave with a Feather--with 2 days' growth--and I took it very slow and easy. It felt not as smooth as the Swede, but better than the Derby. And the 2d pass--WTG--was quite smooth. The result: almost BBS after 2 WTG passes.

I have now enjoyed 6 shaves with the Slant/Feather combination, finally switching to soap (Trumpers Sandalwood) for the last couple.I will easily get a full week out of this blade. I now get very satisfactory results with 2 passes, first North-South and then East-West. Close, with no irritation and no cuts.

I'm very happy with my new razor, and glad I got it in gold!
Fiat lux, et facta est lux. Que la lumière soit, et la lumière fut. Let there be light, and there was light.
Leisureguy

Post by Leisureguy »

It's a great razor, IMO. Very nice that you're having such good success with it.
fatcity

Post by fatcity »

Agreed. Since acquiring a slant, my other razors have seen very little action.

Quick and efficient, I can get a decent one pass shave with my slant. I have yet to combine it with a Feather. Feathers were a bit rough on my skin when I tried them, but that was with multiple passes with an HD. Will have to give them another go.
HH
marsos52

Post by marsos52 »

hi gregpq