Razor blade thoughts

Let's talk about single and double edged razors and the blades that they use.
PerfectlyInsane

Razor blade thoughts

Post by PerfectlyInsane »

I'm a newbie when it comes to safety razors. Recently purchased 34c and a sampler pack of blades. My 1st shave was with the Merkur blade that came with my razor. It was a horrible experience. I really don't think the problem was my technique. I switched the blade to a Astra SS and have had about 10 shaves with these blades. I've had little irratation and maybe a couple of nicks. I change them after 2 shaves because they seem to pull on the 3rd shave. I'm wanting to see if any of these blades in the sampler would be a better shave for me. I have Astra SP, Sharks, Green 7 O'clock(doesn't say Gillette?), Treet Platinum, and I'm guessing the others are Israeli Personna blues. I'm leaning towards trying the Treet Platinum or Astra SP. I know everyone is different, but I'm just curious what others thoughts are on these blades. I have a coarse beard, wouldn't say dense.
mrjediconsular

Re: Razor blade thoughts

Post by mrjediconsular »

Well the only thing I can say is that I would jjunk the merkur blade but you learned the hard waywhen I'm done with my blade sampler I'm going to try treets as well
Jordan
CMur12

Post by CMur12 »

Hello Gentlemen -

The Treets are blades that you like or you don't. I like them and have a supply of them, but others don't. By the way, my beard is coarse but not very dense, also.

There are green-pack 7 O'Clock blades (which are Gillette) and green-pack 7 a.m. blades (which aren't Gillette). The latter are generally considered to be of lower quality. I haven't actually ever tried these, though I think I have some of them around.

The Israeli Personna/IP/Crystal blade (white wrapper with blue printing) is pretty universally liked, if not an actual favorite of many. This blade is often a good place to start.