The Colonial General Razor

Let's talk about single and double edged razors and the blades that they use.
Tucker

The Colonial General Razor

Post by Tucker »

I recently acquired the Colonial General Razor in Silver. I finally got around to shaving with it using a Feather Professional (unguarded) blade. This is my first time using this variety of blade. Previously, I exclusively used Feather Pro Guard Blades for a few shaves each in the RazoRock Chrome Hawk and the Ikon El Jefe Blemshed Head. The General is a mild razor and worked very well for me. It's is very intuitive, and the QC is exceptional. It reminds me of the "Standard" Razor with its raw aluminum finish. The handle was quite grippy even when wet. I would give it five stars out of five. Highly recommended if you like mild, but efficient razors. This could be a daily driver easily.

Previously, I had considered my Hawk and El Jefe SE's as multi-day growth razors for their aggressiveness with the Feather Pro Guard Blade. The Hawk also nicked me on it's fourth use, and I disgarded the blade after that. However, I think now with Feather AC Blades, I will used them 3 times, flip the blade over, and go for 3 more shaves. I am not a fan of flipping DE Blades between shaves, but these Feather AC Blades are very rigid. The other issue with the Ikon El Jefe, is that it seems the most prone to come unscrewed from the handle mid shave. To be fair though, I am not using an Ikon Handle, as Ikon recommends. The Feather AC Blades do not have the "spring" in them that a DE Blade does to really secure the head to the handle. I am coveting the Above The Tie SE1 razor, as I hear that it is mild as well. My pick of the three that I have tried is the General, but the Ikon is good looking, and the Hawk is no slouch either for the price point.
Tucker

Re: The Colonial General Razor

Post by Tucker »