Razor burn help.

Let's talk about single and double edged razors and the blades that they use.
blasterjumper

Razor burn help.

Post by blasterjumper »

I just got my DE razor two days ago and this morning on my second shave with it, I decided to go against the grain on my neck. Well that was a bad idea because now i have razor burn. Should I stop shaving for a few days to let my face heal, or just continue to shave with the DE everyday so my face gets used to the new razor?
Sage

Post by Sage »

I am no expert (yet), but I'd hold off until it feels a tad better, and I definitely would not go against the grain for a while. I have been using a DE for a few months. I tried going against the grain once, and it was a very uncomfortable experience. I have found that after really getting used to the DE, I can get a very close shave going with the grain only, and I don't have the razor burn from going against the grain.

Andy
Sam
M'Learned Friend

Post by Sam »

blaster: dont make the mistake i did, or one of them at least. this is not a race to see who can master the DE the fastest. shave with the grain and make two of those passes and then use what you used before. when the face heals up, try to shave a portion of the neck with the DE. it takes a while to understand what it means when we say, dont shave with pressure, but let the weight of the razor do it. i am learning straights and still have to use my de to touch up my neck. soon, or maybe not so soon, there will be that ureka moment and i will find a technique that works. so if it takes two more months, who cares?

sam
blackgrass
Mandolin Twanger (sans drool)

Post by blackgrass »

All good post so far. You might try going sideways at an angle to the grain of your beard for a few days before trying to go against the grain.
Hugo
Paranoid Schizophrenic

Post by Hugo »

blaster,
The way I learned the DE, and how to apply little (if no pressure), was to close my eyes during each stroke.