All-around newbie kit

New to the world of wet-shaving? Grab a desk and be seated! Welcome to SMFU: A place to learn and compare notes about the ABC's of wet shaving. From brushes to creams, razors and more...We've got it all!
Asd

All-around newbie kit

Post by Asd »

Good day! I'm totally new in wetshaving, but I'm on my way into it. Can you give some advice for basic DE starter kit, that can also be used for traveling? I'm thinking of 38C or HD or maybe something else, you recommend me, some pretty good brush around 60$ and soap or cream (don't know anything about it yet, reading this forum). Thanks in advance!
-A knifeless man is a lifeless man! -
Nordic proverb
function

Post by function »

Normally I would tell you to look right here but as you are in Russia I am not sure if shipping from US vendors will keep the budget intact.

And welcome aboard.
Nick

Give me Lavender or give me death.
Asd

Post by Asd »

Thank you, function! Well, all I need to - is to get full understanding about travel items - brushes, razors, small cans of soap. Something that I can use at home and in my trips. I'm sure I'll buy more and more later on! :-) But for now the set of 38C, everything sampler blades, brush( ???) and soap (???) from westcoastshaving.com sounds interesting. Or I can buy items from forum members - it will make all things more personal for me.
Nordic proverb
prism

Post by prism »

There are some fine shaving products manufactured in Russia. Gillette 7 O'Clock and Irridium Super Stainless are my two favorite razor blades, made in St. Petersburg. If you like menthol, a good friend of mine (Jeff) raves about Tet-a-Tet shave cream and Svoboda aftershave balm, again made in Russia.
Make Mine Menthol! Vic
Asd

Post by Asd »

Well, after some forum searching, a lot of reading, watching YouTube, some shopping and 2 weeks of practice, I've finally got the right way, as I think. That's what I did: