Blade Buffing

Thoughts and input on anything related to wet shaving or men's grooming.
RichLee

Blade Buffing

Post by RichLee »

Evening all...

So what _is_ blade buffing? I'm new to wetshaving with a DE, so maybe I don't need to know (When you are ready, Grasshopper), but I keep coming across references. Anything to help me tidy up after 3-4 passes without overdoing it especially below the edges of my mouth (I tend to leak blood rather than cut myself) would be helpful.

Thanks
Rich
SidSeizure

Post by SidSeizure »

I too would like a clarification of what blade buffing is. From reading other posts where it's mentioned, I think I have an idea of what it is, but I'd like it spelled out more clearly before I actually attempt it with a really sharp blade above my jugular.

Scott
texasPI
Inspector of Beards

Post by texasPI »

Although I am relatively new to all this, my understanding is that you make one pass over a specific area and then without lifting the razor of your face you move it back from where you just started then you bring it forward again over the same area again. I believe it is intended for those specific area which are problematic or where you may still have stubble remaining after you have made all your passes.

Hope I was able to help.

Erik :lol:
SidSeizure

Post by SidSeizure »

Yes, Erik, that was what I thought it was. Now to work up the nerve to actually try it. My Feather loaded slant bar probably isn't the ideal candidate to start with.

Scott
javyn

Post by javyn »

Without lifting up?! That sounds a little dangerous. Occasionally I've done short, light, quick strokes over a problem area, but I do lift the razor.
John
texasPI
Inspector of Beards

Post by texasPI »