Advice sought on application

What kind of fragrances do you prefer?
Chris73

Advice sought on application

Post by Chris73 »

I'm relatively new to these types of scents. Have dabbled throughout my adult life in conventional "prestige" colognes, but never really had a good experience with any of them. Now I have several bottles of really good stuff (Taylor's, Castle Forbes, etc) and I'm wondering what the proper application is. How many sprays/splashes and where on the body do you recommend? Why? I'm assuming you need more than you would with the chemical-heavy type fragrances I've finally and thankfully abandoned....Does it depend on the type of scent??? Please enlighten me.

Chris
bernards66
Duke of Silvertip!

Post by bernards66 »

Chris, Well, obviously, it DOES make some difference how potent the scent is. With the very light classics, like Trumper's Limes or Harris's Classic Cologne, hell, you can splash them all over yourself ( pretend you're Napolean ), and you still won't overdo it. I wouldn't do that though with something like Hammam Bouquet, or T&H Spanish Leather. Different gents have slightly different routines. If it's a fairly assertive cologne, I put a dab on each side of my neck, and on the back of my neck, as well, and a dab on the inside of each wrist. Regards, Gordon
Chris73

Post by Chris73 »

Good comments. In general, though, it's as I feared...Trial and error. I'll err on the side of caution I guess.

Another questions: Do you think that age is an important factor when selecting a cologne? I personally feel that labelling certain scents as "old" or "young" is hogwash, but I have a friend who warns me that I'll end up smelling like a grandpa with these classic scents...BTW I'm 32. Thoughts?

Thanks
Chris
Chris
Official SMF "Pit Bull"

Post by Chris »

Chris73 wrote:Good comments. In general, though, it's as I feared...Trial and error. I'll err on the side of caution I guess.