Crossbows

Feel free to post anything unrelated to wet shaving or men's grooming (I.e. cars, watches, pens, leather goods. You know, the finer things of life).
drmoss_ca
Admin

Crossbows

Post by drmoss_ca »

I grew up with a longbow in my hand, as one of my father's passions was the making of bows, though I was never any good with it. Later I hunted small game (legally vermin in the UK - pigeons, crows and rabbits; the only game I ever took was an illegal hare or six) with an air rifle and a close stalk, and later a 12 bore/12 gauge introducing me to the pleasure of hitting a fast-moving target. Later, I graduated to a muzzle-loading caplock side by side shotgun simply for the fun factor, and in homage to Richard Jefferies who was born about two miles from my birthplace (he wrote The Amateur Poacher and The Gamekeeper at Home, books that any gun nut should read, but I would urge those inclined to try Wood Magic, an excellent Victorian children's fantasy that has more knowledge of nature in it than a whole semester of biology classes). Ultimately, I bought a side by side Spanish sidelock 12G with a straight grip, 28" barrels and choked improved cylinder and modified cylinder (1/4 and 1/2 choke to you guys). Light and easy to throw up to the shoulder for that 40mph pigeon that suddenly came over a hedge. Then I moved to Canada and given the more trusting laws of Canada compared to the UK, I expanded my collection of firearms to include those forbidden in the UK even though unexciting to north American eyes - a Marlin .22 semi-auto, a Winchester 30-30, and even a restricted weapon here since the barrel is all of half an inch too short, a 30 carbine made by the Underwood Typewriter Co, which shows just what total war can do for you if it tries! Eventually, I returned to black powder, and a .50 Hawken rifle and lead slugs cast in a Lee mould.