Tabac

What is your opinion on fine shaving creams and hard soaps? Do you like Trumpers, Coates, Taylors, Truefitt & Hill? Post your reviews and opinions here!
Tinman

Tabac

Post by Tinman »

Back in Sept, during a business trip to Germany I stopped in a Muellers to restock my dwindling supply of soap. I was really after the inexpensive (but good!) stuff--Speick and Palmolive sticks. I saw the jar of Tabac at what I thought a good price, so picked it up as well.

I've been working my way through a puck of PdP and realizing this will take many months (haven't even gotten below the threads on the can and I've been using it for several weeks) and decided to break out the Tabac to try it. Nice surprise. Very easy lathering, great shaving. The scent is different but I like it and expect it would grow on me even more after regular use.

I've been using traditional brush/cream/soap since 2009 and have tried many soaps and creams, but not liking to have limited storage space overflowing, I usually only have a few things on hand and finish them up before buying more. There are lot's of soaps and creams that I am eager to try but the current ones all go pretty slow and I don't restock often, so it's taken me a long time to get around to trying Tabac. Glad I did. Looking forward to when I start working my way through this puck.
rustyblade
Shaving Paparazzo

Re: Tabac

Post by rustyblade »

I have an open bowl of Tabac that I've been using on an off since 2005. Still has a decent amount of scent to it.
Richard
jww
Woolly Bully

Post by jww »

Tabac has a scent that is not only unique, it is also quite isolating. I really like the scent, but I can't use it as a daily driver mainly because it is harsh on my skin. It is a fabulous latherer that's for sure. It works equally well with all my brushes including my budget synthetic from The Body Shop.
Wendell

Resident Wool Fat Evangelist & anglophile. Have you hugged a sheep today?
95%

Post by 95% »