Does witch hazel expire?

What kind of fragrances do you prefer?
TRBeck
Soapgeek

Does witch hazel expire?

Post by TRBeck »

In a local grocery, I stumbled on several bottles of deeeeeeply discounted Humphrey's witch hazel. They are all expired by two years (04/06 is the expiration date on the bottle).

Now, I know that with many shaving products, there is a real expiration date (usually a couple of years after the product is open) and an official expiration date, but I'm having trouble deciding if witch hazel would expire at all. Any opinions?

Thanks and regards,
Regards,
Tim

Why should we not meet, not always as dyspeptics, to tell our bad dreams, but sometimes as eupeptics, to congratulate each other on the ever-glorious morning? - Henry David Thoreau
notthesharpest
Assistant Dean SMFU

Post by notthesharpest »

I'm no expert, but I would put this stuff in the category of "if it looks good and smells good then it probably is good".
Aztecface

Post by Aztecface »

Only problem with Humprey's is that it smells like burnt almonds. Other then that it works just great. I always mix it up with some lavender water or rose water.
Regards,
Jani
TRBeck
Soapgeek

Post by TRBeck »

Jani, yeah, Humphrey's smell ain't all that lovely, but like you, I correct it. I have orange blossom water, rose water, and assorted EOs on hand, so I can come up with a nice range of scents with Humphrey's.

When I went back to the store, there were about 20 new bottles on the shelf and only two of the old ones. All were the same price, and I checked with the manager, who said they have a large quantity in the storeroom. I only bought two bottles. I'm sure it'll still be there when I need it next. And anyway, God help me the day I get Witch Hazel Acquisition Disorder (WHAD?) FWIW, I also bought one of the old ones and smelled it. Smells fine. Used it today, too. No problems so far.

Regards,
Regards,
Tim