Slant: Both Sides?

Let's talk about single and double edged razors and the blades that they use.
GregPQ

Slant: Both Sides?

Post by GregPQ »

I've been using a Merkur Slant daily for several years, always with a Feather. I've noticed that one side is noticeably smoother, but have always made sure to use the 'bad' side equally to optimize blade life.

Lately I've been using only the smooth side and have been getting outstanding shaves.

So I was wondering if other members used only their Slant's 'good' side.
Fiat lux, et facta est lux. Que la lumière soit, et la lumière fut. Let there be light, and there was light.
Squire
Squadron Leader

Post by Squire »

I'd probably take a hammer to it and make both sides good, but then I'm a bit cranky in the mornings.

Greg I share your curiosity over whether other members have had this experience.
Regards,
Squire
glassmtn

Post by glassmtn »

I have not noticed a difference with my slant although I have noticed it with other razors where the blade exposure is not even on both sides.

Eric.
SmallTank

Post by SmallTank »

I agree..I haven't had ANY issues with either side..maybe yours was made slightly different for some reason
yohannrjm

Post by yohannrjm »

Are you paying attention to the blade exposure on each side?

The Merkur slants I had have all allowed some play in the blade positioning. Perhaps you're aligning one side and leaving a different blade gap on the other side - which could explain the difference in shave quality.
"The road goes on forever, and the party never ends."
The Highwaymen
brothers

Post by brothers »

My Slant works just fine, both sides. It's one of the smoothest shavers, consistently.
Last edited by brothers on Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gary

SOTD 99%: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, soaps & creams, synthetic / badger brushes, Colonial General razor, Kai & Schick blades, straight razors any time, Superior 70 aftershave splash + menthol + 444
GregPQ

Post by GregPQ »